Tchaikovsky’s Grand Sonata

Anton Kuerti is a Canadian pianist who was born in Vienna in 1938. (He studied with Loesser, Serkin and Horszowski.) Kuerti produced a most satisfying interpretation of the “Grand Sonata” in G by Peter Ilyitch Tchaikovsky, capturing all the heroical striving and Schumannian Affekt that the Russian master intended for it. This major work of piano literature was written in 1878. The present performance was given in Convocation Hall at the University of Toronto in 1982. As an encore afterwards, we listen to Anton Kuerti’s playing of music composed in 1837 by Robert Schumann himself, the prophetic dream diarist of the Romantic keyboard. The two “dances” are taken from Schumann’s fantasy cycle Davidsbündlertänze, Op. 6 (the allegorical German title means “Dances of the League of David” – i.e. in league against the Philistines in defence of Art). ~Q~

Tchaikovsky : Sonata for Piano in G, Op. 37, “Grande Sonate” –

I. Moderato e risoluto
II. Andante non troppo quasi moderato
III. Scherzo. Allegro giocoso
IV. Finale. Allegro vivace


Schumann : From the Davidsbündlertänze, Op. 6 : No. 16. Mit gutem Humor (“Good-humouredly”) ; No. 17. Wie aus der Ferne (“As though from afar”) –











Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s